SIXTY-FIFTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION

INDIANAPOLIS, IND., AUGUST 28 TO SEPTEMBER 1, 1917.

(Partial Report of the First General Session in Abstract, and the President's Address.)

The First General Session of the Sixty-fifth Annual Meeting of the American Pharmaceutical Association was called to order at 8.20 P.M., August 28th, in the Assembly Room of the Claypool Hotel, Indianapolis, by the President, Frederick J. Wulling, of Minneapolis, Minn.

Prof. John Uri Lloyd, of Cincinnati, spoke the words of encouragement for the convention.

President Wulling welcomed the delegates from the various departments of the U. S. Government, the national, state and local pharmaceutical, and related associations; he extended to them the privileges of the floor during the convention, and expressed the hope that the delegates would participate in the proceedings and give the members an opportunity to hear from them officially at such a time that would best suit their convenience.

The next order of business was the reading of the President's address. Lucius E. Sayre, Second Vice-President of the Association, presided. (The address of President Wulling follows on next page.)

F. E. Stewart moved that the able and suggestive address of President Wulling be referred to a committee to be appointed by the chair. Chairman L. E. Sayre appointed the following members: H. V. Arny, Julius A. Koch, C. E. Caspari, R. A. Lyman, Charles H. LaWall.

President Wulling then resumed the chair and called for an abstract of the minutes of the Council, read by Secretary J. W. England. The minutes were approved. (They will hereafter be printed under Council Business.)

General Secretary William B. Day notified the chairman of the various Association Committees to have their reports ready for presentation at the next General Session.

The roll of States, Territories and Provinces was called, for the purpose of selecting a Committee on Nominations.

Greetings from national and state associations and individuals were read. (They will be printed in a succeeding number of the JOURNAL.)

John C. Wallace feelingly referred to the words from Prof. Joseph P. Remington and moved that a message of condolence and cheer be sent to him. Carried unanimously.

The Nominating Committee was announced, and President Wulling named the following five members-at-large: Caswell A. Mayo, H. M. Whelpley, L. E. Sayre, F. E. Stewart and Edward Spease.

The following Committee on Resolutions was named, the first five by the Council, and the latter by the Association: W. F. Hankey, C. H. Packard, Jacob Diner, Louis Saalbach, A. H. Clark; J. A. Handy, Jeannot Hostmann, C. H. Huhn, W. L. Scoville and W. P. Porterfield.

The First General Session adjourned at 10.25 P.M.

(The names of the nominees will be found on Council Letter page.)